Tags

,

There is this neat grocery store here called Winco. It is a huge store. They have everything. They have bulk items in barrels to buy. I saw pinto beans, so I bought some. You get a bag and scoop in as much as you want. I saw some videos about how good fresh cooked pinto beans were. I brought them home and cleaned the beans off and put them in a bowl of water to soak overnight. The next morning I poured off the water and put them in a pot with water. You don’t salt them, they say it makes them tuff and not tender. You have to cook them from 4 hours. The water runs low all the time. You always have to watch them so they don’t go dry. I was constantly adding water. After cooking, I put them in a pan with a spoon of bacon grease. (I saw a video on cooking them and I would advise you not to put too much bacon grease in them.) You mush them all up to make refried beans. I must have put too much bacon grease in mine because it tasted like bacon. It didn’t taste too great. The skins on the beans were kind of tough to chew. The beans were OK, but not great. For something that takes hours to make, it just was not worth cooking. I think I will stick with canned refried beans. I just thought they would be good because I made them from dried beans.

Tomorrow I am going to try making bread sticks like those at Olive Garden. I found a recipe online for them.

