My garden is done.

002I bought over 100 bags of top soil for my garden.  We have red clay dirt here.  It is hard like a brick.  I bought good dirt.  Those are 40 pound bags and they do not go very far.  I would go to Ace Hardware and get 12 bags put in the back of my vehicle and drive them home.  Hubby would unload them and send me back for 12 more.  I did get 20 bags at Wal-Mart but the dirt was not that good of stuff.  It was more clay in it so I didn’t buy any more from them.  Towards then end of when I was going, the guys that load it in my vehicle would not come out to put it in my car.  The last trip , no one came out to help me.  I had to go back in to get someone to put it in my car.  When you buy it at the cash register the cashier says into a little microphone to get someone out to count it out and put it in your vehicle.  They probably just ignored it the last time.  I told one guy “I have bought a lot of this soil from your store.”  He was nice once he came out but it took him a long time to come out.  One time I went and I didn’t count the bags and they only gave me 9 bags instead of 12.  I called the store and they added on 3 more bags that they shorted me, on the next trip.  I am glad it is done.  I was getting tired of making the trip.  I planted it and that took a couple of days.  It was so hot out when I was doing it.  It was 90 degrees.  My plants didn’t like the heat, they looked wilted.  My husband put in a pipe to the water and we bought a 75 foot soaker hose for it.  Now all I have to do is turn it on and it will water my whole garden.  001                                                                                                                                             This is my gardenplanted.  This is before the soaker hose.  It has been raining all day so I didn’t take a picture of it yet. 

I planted pole beans, beets, onions, tomatoes, zuccinni, squash and Acorn squash.  Oh and Brussels Sprouts.  I love those fresh grown.  I don’t really like them frozen.

My one pole bean was really tall.  It fell over and broke because of the heat. 

I also got another tomato cage yesterday.  I now have 5 tomato plants.  I do love tomatoes. 

My neighbors across the street were planting those upside down tomatoes.  I don’t know how those will do.  You just buy regular tomato plants and put them in this green plastic bag and hang them upside down.  I will have to ask her how they are doing in a month.  I am curious.

Author: Connie T

I love to make videos, cooking ones and legos ones. I like to draw and paint and make crafts and read blogs. I have a Nikon D80. I also use my Canon small camera a lot, I always have it with me.

2 thoughts on “My garden is done.”

  1. Yeah it’s actually been nice here this week, so our plants are probably fine. David put in cool mini irrigation system that we hooked to the regular sprinkler line, it was just hoses and squirters and stuff. Very cool. It was $40 at Home Depot.

    Like

  2. What a lot of work but it will be worth it. I would complain to the manager of that store. That is very poor customer relations if you ask me. Good luck with this and I look forward to seeing the progress 🙂

    Rabbit, rabbit

    Like

Leave a Reply

