Red steam.

I don’t want to put a title to my post because when I start typing, stuff just pours out of my head and my fingers type it.  Or I have lots to say and when I start to type, the stuff does not seem so interesting as it did in my head. 

beets-001I did take a picture of the beets we canned.  I don’t know why they call it canning when it is jarring. 

That was a process.  Hubby weighted the beets.  They weighed 19.8 pounds.  Some were really big.  You have to wash them and then put them in a pot of water and cook them till they are tender.  We had four pots going.  It took forever to cook because the beets were so big they didn’t get tender.  I put some in my pressure cooker and they cooked pretty good.  I could only get 6 beets in the cooker.  The thing is though, that the water turns RED. 

When you let the steam out of the pressure cooker, the steam is Red.  I had to take it outside to let the steam out.  It was raining outside at the time.  I am in the doorway of my garage,  I have the pot just outside of the doorway.  I press the thing on top to let out the hot, hot steam.  Pssssssssssssssssssss.  It is spewing like a geyser.  Red liquid steam is shooting all over me and the porch and the pot and the garage floor.  I stop it and grab some paper towels and kind of cover the spray.  The only thing is though that it gets soaked and it is hot.  So I finally get the steam out of the pot and then have to wipe off the pot, which is still hot.  I wipe off the floor and the door jam and my arms.  I take it back inside and take out the hot beets and put in more beets in the pot.  I take it back outside and plug it in and start that one cooking.  Meanwhile the beets in the house and bubbling away on the stove and boil over and cover the stove in red and then it burns onto the white glass-top stove that I have.  We finally got them all cooked.  Then you have to peel the skin off, while they are hot.  Then you cut them up into bite size pieces.  You get the jars washed and put them in this giant pot on the stove to get hot.  Make the liquid for the beets and cook it and put in the beets and cook that some more and then put them into the jars and then clean up the giant mess all over thbeets-014e place.

Today we went and bought a big, big pot to cook them in next time.  We also ordered a 23 qt pressure canner cooker.  I am going to do beans when they grow.  I hope they grow.  The seeds started to come up yesterday.  My beets sprouted.  We have had rain for 4 days now and the garden is loving it.

Author: Connie T

I love to make videos, cooking ones and legos ones. I like to draw and paint and make crafts and read blogs. I have a Nikon D80. I also use my Canon small camera a lot, I always have it with me.

1 thought on “Red steam.”

  1. I love beets and I love the title to this post. I to wonder why they call it canning when they are put in jars. Maybe a long time ago they didn’t have jars and put them in cans? Who knows. Your garden looks great and I look forward to seeing the beans 🙂 Great work

    Like

Leave a Reply

