The waves scare me.

089We just got back from Myrtle Beach, well actually Huntington Beach, South Carolina, it is 15 miles from Myrtle Beach.  The water was so warm.  It was a little wavy.  One day I got up enough courage to go stand in the waves.  These people were using these body boards to ride the waves.  I went out far enough and just floated and got the big idea to float in on the wave on my stomach.  Wrong thing to do.  I jumped into the wave and it pushed me down, went over the top of me and just rolled me around.  It was strong and it just kind of pushed me down for a while.  I decided not to do that again.  We then went a bought a body board.  After getting dragged around by the waves, I didn’t really want to go back into the water.  I was standing in the water, letting the waves go by.  They are really strong.  You have to stand sideways to keep your balance.  I saw this really heavy woman standing in the water, letting the waves hit her.  She was a little further out than I was.  A really big wave came by and it hit her.  I bet she weighed around 300 pounds, maybe more.  The wave knocked her over and she fell into the water.  The wave washed over her.  She then could not get up and the waves just kept going over her.  She would try to get up, but each wave just kept knocking her down.  She would look and hold her nose as each wave washed over her.  She was floundering around on her belly, trying to get up but she couldn’t.  Then her friend that was with her, came out to her and grabbed her arm, trying to help her up.  She could not pull her up because she was so heavy.  It took a few tries but the woman finally stood up as her friend pulled and pulled on her.  She then went back to her beach chair and just sat there and did not go back into the water. 

My husband and son did the body board pretty good.  My husband made me use it.  I did not want to.  He drug me out to where the waves were breaking.  I was scared.  I just kept thinking that a shark could eat me.  When a big wave came, he let go and there I was going across the water.  Then it stopped and then another wave hit me and I was in the shallow water and my knee was scraping the sand.  It was like rubbing my knee with sand paper.  I didn’t do it again. 

I just stood there and watched them use the board.   084

Author: Connie T

I love to make videos, cooking ones and legos ones. I like to draw and paint and make crafts and read blogs. I have a Nikon D80. I also use my Canon small camera a lot, I always have it with me.

1 thought on “The waves scare me.”

  1. We are apparently all drawn to the sea… it’s said if you put a baby down on the beach, it will always crawl towards to the sea.

    I think for me, it’s a bit like space and the solar system; you “see” it, but you just don’t know what’s “underneath” it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

