Looking for craw-fish

Right by our camp ground, right behind our camper, ran a creek.  It wasn’t very big.  It  ran along, going around the big rocks and trees.  The trees had giant roots hanging down into the water, hanging on in giant clumps to hold up the giant, heavy tree.  My son wanted to go look for craw-fish.  I walked down the steep bank and stood right beside the water, looking in to see if I could see anything.  I looked by a tree and there in the water was a craw-fish, laying there, blending in with the colors around it.  It lay really still.  I told my son to go get his net and put on his flip-flops and get into the water and see if he could catch it.  I went back inside my camper to read my book that I had started.  I was reading Inkheart and it was a good story.  My son came into the camper and said the creek was cold and his feet were so cold.  He didn’t want to go back into it.  buckhorn dam, natural bridge 045

The next day I put on my thongs (flip-flops) and grabbed the net.  “I am going to go look for craw-fish.”  My son just looked at me.  “Is it too cold to go do that.  You are going to freeze your feet.”  he said.  It was pretty warm outside.  I went to the water and walked in.  The water was cold, but not deep.  I started turning over rocks to look under them.  My son came up to watch.  I saw a craw-fish in the water but it swam off really fast when I tried to catch it.  After a while the cold didn’t even bother my feet.  I did catch a nice size craw-fish.  I had a water bottle, I cut the top off and filled the rest of it up with creek water and dumped in the craw-fish.  Out of the creek water it looked brown and red.  It didn’t like being in my bottle.  My son ran and put on his water shoes.  He got in the water and helped me look for more.  He forgot all about the water being cold.  We  found a couple of more craw-fish.  We caught them too.  We put them in more cups.  buckhorn dam, natural bridge 040

These two boys came over to the creek where we were.  The decided to get into the water and help us.  I gave them the net.  They were putting rocks across the creek  to dam the water and then they would chase the fish into the net.  They caught a lot of little fish.  Pretty soon they were catching a lot of craw-fish and kept putting them into our cups.  By this time I had 4 cups along the bank, full of craw-fish.  They ran and got a bottle to put their fish into.  They wanted the fish to go fishing with.  buckhorn dam, natural bridge 038

I let all of the craw-fish , but 2, back into the water.  My son wanted to look at the two we had longer.  The boys wanted to keep following the stream to look for more fish.  We walked all the way along the stream.  It came to the road and we walked under the road through the tunnel under the road.  The stream came out into a lot bigger creek.  It was a bit deeper.  In the deeper water the boys caught bigger fish in the net.  I noticed that it was starting to rain.  I told them it was starting to rain and took my net back.  The sun was still out but the rain was coming down.  We started to go back to our camp.  We went up the bank and crossed the road.  The rain started coming down a lot harder.  I looked up and the sky was deep grey.  Then it started pouring, like you were in a shower.  We were getting soaked.  I saw the restrooms and said we should run for that.  It was coming down in buckets and we were totally wet.  My husband drove up in our vehicle.  He came to get us because he figured we would need a ride.  It rained for a while.  My son had a great time looking for life in the creek.  After the rain stopped he went to the water and let the craw-fish go.  The boys had also gave him a fish and he let that go too.

Author: Connie T

I love to make videos, cooking ones and legos ones. I like to draw and paint and make crafts and read blogs. I have a Nikon D80. I also use my Canon small camera a lot, I always have it with me.

9 thoughts on “Looking for craw-fish”

  1. What a wonderful story. I love it. I remember going, we called them crawdads hunting. Boy they are good eating I tell ya. Excellent my friend 🙂

    Like

  2. I’d love to go camping in America.

    Over here, we are being over-run with Signal crayfish, and they are decimating our own native crayfish. 😦

    By the way, how many Coinstar finds have you had now? I need to know to sort out some possible award badges or medals for you. 😉

    Like

  3. James: We have had lots of finds. We find money almost every day. I will have to start taking pictures for you. My son says over 15 or 20. We go to the store almost every day. He also finds a lot of coins in the self checkout isles where people don’t take their change.

    Like

Leave a Reply

