Sean and Con went up a hill

My son got this paper from school full of boxes for the month of September.  He has to do some type of exercise every day and write it down….for gym class homework.  He was sick for a lot of days the first two weeks.  Then he has loads and loads of homework.  There is so much homework everyday that it takes until bedtime to finish it every day, which totally sucks.  I hate the Language Arts homework.  He does not understand it and he asks the teacher and she must be a bitch because she tells him that he heard it and she is not going to explain it.  (He missed 6 days out of 10 because he was very sick, so I doubt that he heard it.)  So I am here going over his book trying to figure out the lessons.   It is about prepositions, conjunctions and interjections.  Then it is about compound prepositions.  Ok I figured that out but it is clear as mud when they throw these giant sentences with like 4 compound prepositions in the sentence.   Then you have to find the prepositional phrase.  I feel like I am going to school again and guess what, when you get out of school, you never give a rat’s ass what a compound preposition is or a pronoun or  what anything is called in a sentence.  A preposition is a word that relates a noun or a pronoun to some other word in a sentence but some can be made up of more words. 

So, yesterday when my son got home I said I would go for a walk with him to write on his paper that he did exercise yesterday.  It was 85 degrees and humid because it was going to rain, the sky was cloudy, so I got a bottle of water and we went out the door.  We were going to walk to our neighborhood pond.  It is hilly here, steep hills.  We head over to this new section and it goes down the hill to the water.  There is a new sidewalk that goes to a walkway that goes along the pond.  The new sidewalk was so steep, it was hard to walk down on it.  My knees were in pain from the angle of the sidewalk.  Ok, the walk to the lake was all down hill so we walk around the lake one time.  001 pondWe saw lots of turtles sticking their heads out of the water.  Fish were jumping once in a while.  My 15 minute walk was turning into an hour and the sun had come out and it was hot.  I said “Let’s start back home.  We went to the dreaded sidewalk.  It looked even steeper looking up at it.  They should have built steps into it to make it easier to walk up.  It was like walking up a smooth escalator.    Then we had to walk up the street that was ultra steep.  When we got home I was so hot and tired and my feet and knees were screaming at me.  It started pouring down rain as soon as we went into the house. 

Today we went to the grocery store.  I checked the Coinstar.  There on the counter was a single coin.  It looked awful.  It was a penny that was so beat up, all broken all around it and in bad, bad, sad shape.  I picked it up though to take a picture and record my find…..I showed it to my son after I tried to wash it.  It didn’t help it.  My son said it was cool looking.  I said I wanted to throw it away.  My son kept it. 

Here is both sides of it.

mosaic80517babbeed3e35b6ab08aaceb788578e546cba

Author: Connie T

I love to make videos, cooking ones and legos ones. I like to draw and paint and make crafts and read blogs. I have a Nikon D80. I also use my Canon small camera a lot, I always have it with me.

1 thought on “Sean and Con went up a hill”

Leave a Reply

