Slow cooked Pork

I cooked the pork shoulder.  I put it in my big cast iron pot, I think it is a 6 qt.  It is covered in porcelain.  I trimmed a lot of the fat off.  One whole side is covered in fat, so I cut that off the best I could.  It still has a lot of fat all through it, but it melts off.  I put a little bit of water in the pan.  You don’t need to do that.  I started cooking it on 250F degrees.  I turned it on about 10PM.  At 4:oo am, I got up to check it.  You could smell it cooking all over the house.  I tried taking it out to the garage, but the plugs didn’t work out there.  I guess something out there tripped the breaker.  So I carried it all back into the kitchen.  I opened the pot.  It had a lot a liquid in it.  The pot was half full of liquid.  I took a lot of the liquid out.  All that fat melts and makes liquid.  I put the pot back in the Nesco and turned the temp down to 225F.  I cooked it until about 10:30 AM the next morning, so it cooked for 12 hours.  I put on rubber gloves and took the pork out of the pot and pulled it all apart and threw away the fat parts.  Shred it up with a fork.  It is fall apart tender.  It turned out really good. 

I put it on toasted bread and poured on BBQ sauce.  I think it

would be better on a bun next time.  You end up with a lot  of meat.

I have been watching Food Network, and they go to a lot of B-B-Q places and they say they all slow cook the pork shoulder.  Now I know how to make some good homemade pulled pork sandwiches.

Author: Connie T

I love to make videos, cooking ones and legos ones. I like to draw and paint and make crafts and read blogs. I have a Nikon D80. I also use my Canon small camera a lot, I always have it with me.

Leave a Reply

