T-shirt makeover

When we were traveling, I needed extra t-shirts, so I would not have to do laundry so much. One laundry, right outside of Yellowstone wanted $2.75 per washer and $1.75 per dryer. I went to Wal-Mart and just bought some $5 men’s t-shirts. One of them was this army green color. I also went to K-Mart and found some shorts, so I bought 6 pairs of those. One pair was this pea green soup color and the green top I bought went with it pretty good. I had all my nice tops packed away and in storage.  I got on this kick a couple of months ago to buy button down shirts. They are cute, but they need to be ironed. Did I mention that you have to iron them…..I don’t like to iron clothes. I don’t know what possessed me to buy clothes that need to be ironed. That is why I packed them away. I was not going to drag an iron with me on my trip.
So….A couple of days ago I was wearing the green top and cleaning my son’s shoes….vigorsly with some Comet with bleach cleaner. I bought a $50 pair of Nike shoes at an outlet Nike store. When he tried them on he just went on about how great they were, how he really like them. Then two days later he said “They hurt my feet. I hate them. I want different shoes.” So….there I was cleaning the bottom on the shoes with Comet cleaner and scrubbing them vigorously with a toothbrush to get them totally clean. They looked great, all clean. I whipped out the hair dryer and dried them off and put them in the box and went back to the Nike shoe store. I still had on the green shirt. I told the clerk, a guy, that those shoes caused intense pain in my child’s foot, he can not wear them, I want a refund. He looked them over, every inch on both shoes. He then gave me a refund. I walked out the door of the store and looked down at my shirt. It was all splotched with bleach stains all over the front.

I was about ready to just throw it away, but I decided to try and save the shirt…..it goes with my green shorts.  (Although, I do look like a giant green pea in it.)

I have been reading this ladies blog when she takes a dress she finds for $1 and cuts them and re-creates a nice looking outfit for $1. 

I decided to paint over the ugly bleach stains.  What could it hurt, I was going to throw the shirt away.  I got out my puff paints.  I didn’t have a design in mind, I just got busy trying to cover over the stains and started drawing with the bottles of paint. 

I let it dry over night and wore it the next day.  I like it, I think it looks better than bleach stain all over it. 

I think I will get out my iron an do some ironing tomorrow. 

Tommow I will show you my new bed spread I got for my bed.  I love it.

Oh yeah…..we went to the New Balance shoe store and got my son another new pair of shoes.  They were $60, but he says they feel great, they are the best shoe ever and they don’t hurt his feet.  I must say though, that I do hate shoes that hurt, it is very important to wear a shoe that is comfortable and does not hurt your feet. 

Author: Connie T

I love to make videos, cooking ones and legos ones. I like to draw and paint and make crafts and read blogs. I have a Nikon D80. I also use my Canon small camera a lot, I always have it with me.

2 thoughts on “T-shirt makeover”

Leave a Reply

