Burning Man vehicle

Yesterday we went for a drive. We drove to Pyramid Lake. It is a big lake in the desert. It is on tribal land and there were hardly any people using it. There were a few pull off beaches so we pulled off onto this dirt road that went to the water. Then we saw the sign. It said we could not go further with buying a permit to be there. We turned around and drove on the main road. I could envision the tribal police coming and arresting us for being by the lake without the permit. But where do you buy these permits. I didn’t see anyplace to get one. We kept going down the road that ran along the lake. We came upon a store so we stopped and went inside to ask how much a permit was. I didn’t want to swim there right then, but it would be nice to know how much it costs in case we wanted to come back. It costs $6 for day use or $10 to camp by the lake. That is when I started to notice a lot of RV’s and moving vans were stopped, gassing up and the people were a little strange. Burning man started today. They had stacks of stuff and bikes on trailers. The people had strange color hair. We then drove on down the street to Fernley, NV. There was a truck stop and it had an Arby’s so we went in to get something to eat. There were a lot of RV’s pulling in to gas up. They were on the way to Burning man too. This one girl had lots of feathers glued into her hair. One lady was outside painting pictures on her vehicle.  I saw a lot of blue hair on women and one guy shaved star shapes all over his head. Then I saw this vehicle pull in to the pumps.  It was really purple. Isn’t that wild.

See the silver trailer they are pulling, that is the official symbol of Burning Man. They say it sold out this year. $50,000 people are going to the middle of nowhere to camp for a week and sit in the heat, no power, no water, you have to carry out all your trash and water to see some stuff burn on Saturday. They dress strange and take drugs and decorate their bikes in wild colors or fun fur and dye their hair blue or orange or pink. They walk around naked or not. Today at Wal-mart, when I stopped in to get bread, the parking lot was packed with people going to Burning Man. They were buying carts full of those red gas cans and blue water cans and water and booze. Lots of rental motor homes. There were two girls holding a sign, tying up their dresses a little higher. The sign said Playa Please.  That is what people call it, the Playa. I think they were hoping to get a ride.  If you don’t now what burning man is, go to YouTube and type in Burning Man. It looks wild and you will enjoy the mutant vehicles. It does cost $215 and up for each person to go and you must have a ticket to get in. They sold out in 2 days back in July. I have never really heard of it until I moved here. Now those bicycles that I saw for sale last week make sense to me.  They looked like giant furry dog bikes.

I like this video I saw on You Tube. This guy can take some awsome pictures.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0k1LK6pmozs&list=FLB0jL3Cx5suc4tnQGZPiuWw&index=1&feature=plpp

Author: Connie T

I love to make videos, cooking ones and legos ones. I like to draw and paint and make crafts and read blogs. I have a Nikon D80. I also use my Canon small camera a lot, I always have it with me.

4 thoughts on “Burning Man vehicle”

  1. the Burning Man thing looks fun…

    …we missed it by one week when we went to Las Vegas in 2004 – but thinking about it Im not quite sure how we would have got out there to see it…

    Like

  2. Fascinating to learn about this event! And the youTube video is amazing!

    By the way, thanks so much for visiting my blog and sharing about the table you and your husband made back in the 70s. Do you still have it?

    Kathy

    Like

Leave a Reply

