Finding just the right pumpkin.

We decided to drive out to Gardnerville, NV to go to the pumpkin patch. I noticed this giant field of pumpkins when we drove by it last week. I just knew that my son would love it. He loves getting a pumpkin to carve every year. This is a video of a pumpkin I carved in 2006, Spongebob pumpkin. That was a hard pumpkin picture to carve. I never carved another pumpkin like that. Now I just carved the standard mouth, nose, eyes pumpkin. I don’t like the feel of the slimy insides.

We went to the pumpkin farm on Sunday. It was busy. They were charging $5 a person to get in. They had a pen of goats for the kids to pet. They had a corn maze, but it was closed. A horse was pulling a carriage. They had a pig race. I didn’t stick around for the pig race. I asked them if we could just go out to the field to find a pumpkin to buy. The guy said I would have to pay, but it was free Monday-Friday. I told him if I had to come back, then I would not drive all that way just to buy a pumpkin. I had to drive 90 minutes from my house just to get to the pumpkin farm. They were charging 30 cents a pound. The grocery store charges 25 cents a pound. He told me to go on in, as long as I didn’t do anything else inside, like pet a goat, or watch the pig races. I told him that all I wanted to do was pick out a pumpkin. We got a wagon and pulled it over to the field of pumpkins.

My son went in search of the pumpkin he wanted. He finally found one and carried it back to the wagon. It was heavy and he carried it a long way.

I reached down to pick one up and it was thorny. A few thorns went into my finger. Ouch. I didn’t know they had tiny, sharp thorns on the stems. My son placed the pumpkin in the wagon and took off again. He liked the white pumpkins. I guess they are called ghost pumpkins. He wanted one, so he searched the whole field for a white one. He found a small one and a huge one, so he put them both in the wagon. I had him lean down by a pumpkin to take his picture.

The pumpkins were so pretty and orange.  I loved looking at all the shapes and sizes. I have planted pumpkin seeds, but they never grew for me.

I also bought a little sweet pumpkin for making pies. I don’t know why I bought it. I guess it was so cute and at the time I was all for cooking it to make a pie. Now I look at it and think “What was I thinking.” I have to peel it and cut it up and cook it and season it and mash it and make pie crust. Ughhh. I guess I need to find the recipe to do that. It seemed like a good idea at the time.  Today I just bought a frozen pumpkin pie and cooked it. The cute little pumpkin is sitting on my table, yelling “Eat me.” I will, in a couple of weeks……maybe.

Author: Connie T

I love to make videos, cooking ones and legos ones. I like to draw and paint and make crafts and read blogs. I have a Nikon D80. I also use my Canon small camera a lot, I always have it with me.

5 thoughts on “Finding just the right pumpkin.”

  1. They are big pumkins! I looked and the spongebob pumpkin, brilliant! When I was going to art class, the teacher brought pumpkins and gourds to draw, the colours were lovely

    I do that too; buy something to make and then fetch something from the freezer

    Like

    1. I will, we don’t carve it until Halloween. I don’t like the smell of it in the house. It does not smell until you cut it open. My pie pumpkin is still sitting on the table.

      Like

  2. Great pumpkins you got there – …We were just at a pumpkin farm a couple weeks ago and the kids got a hayride out to where you pick them out. Fun post and I caught up a wee bit here…

    Like

  3. Beautiful pictures Connie . And adding your son in the post made it more special. Looks like you guys had a great time. You gave me an idea of having to get one for my son as well. may be make it a yearly tradition. Thank you and wishing you and your family all the sweet blessings this Autumn and the years to come.

    Like

Leave a Reply

