Brown sugar tip

This is a post about a tip for brown sugar. You may already know this but it amazes me.  I had my brown sugar in a plastic container with a nice snap on lid. I kept noticing that it got really hard. I had to stab it with a knife just to break it up to get some out of the container. It finally got rock hard so I bought a new bag of brown sugar. I was trying figure out how to get this brick out of the container. I once heard that if you put a piece of bread in with brown sugar it will keep it soft. This was not soft, but I put a piece of bread on top of the sugar and put the lid on it. I checked in a couple of days and to my surprise the bread was rock hard but the sugar was really soft and usable. I then threw that bread away and put a bun in the container. The bun got really crusty hard but the sugar has stayed soft. It is amazing. So before you throw away your hard brown sugar, try putting a piece of bread in it.

Author: Connie T

I love to make videos, cooking ones and legos ones. I like to draw and paint and make crafts and read blogs. I have a Nikon D80. I also use my Canon small camera a lot, I always have it with me.

9 thoughts on “Brown sugar tip”

  1. leave it to me to forget the sugar and the bread and three months later find a hyperactive mold on a sugar high climbing out the sides of a rubbermaid bowl.

    sounds like a plan.

    Like

    1. The bread is hard as a rock and dry. I use the brown sugar a lot. The best is bake beans and I buy cooked apples with cinnamon in a can. I put some brown sugar on it and microwave it. It tastes so good.

      Like

Leave a Reply

