Duck tape wallet

About 3 weeks ago my son had to make something to sell at school. They sold stuff for school dollars, not real money. We had to go out and get construction paper and he made a lot of big paper poppers. They pop loud when you flick them open. He sold them all. The 8th graders in the entire school sold stuff they made. Some made pet rocks and my son bought a marshmallow shooter, something made out of little pvc pipe. The one thing I really liked was a duck tape wallet. I have never seen these. I think it is neat. I told him to ask the kid that made it to make me one and I would pay him real money for it. He was selling them for $2 school bucks, so I gave him $2, cash. It took weeks for him to get around to making it, but he finally did. My son put it in his backpack to bring home to me. A kid on the bus unzipped his backpack and stole the wallet. When my son got home he could not find the wallet anywhere. Then he remembered that a kid on the bus unzipped his backpack, so he zipped it back up. I guess the kid took the wallet, thinking there must have been something in it. So I didn’t get my wallet. My son said it was really neat looking. The kid make it with peace signs and green tape. This is the one my son originally bought. It is blue and silver.

I think it is pretty good for just duck tape. I watched some videos on YouTube to find out how to make them. I went to the store and bought two rolls of duck tape. That stuff comes in so many colors and patterns. There are people on YouTube that make really nice wallets with pictures and designs and they are amazing. They even sell them. I bought a roll of “splash of colors” tape and a roll of gold. I got a craft knife and my husband made a board to cut the tape on. He made it out of a sheet of heavy vinyl that he had made to put over a wire shelf. I checked out the cutting boards that people were using on YouTube, but when I went to buy one from Michael’s crafts place, they are expensive, like $30 up to $100. I didn’t want to spend that much just to make a tape wallet. I bought a ruler and taped it down on my vinyl sheet, it is pretty sturdy. I watched an instruction video some guy had made and I wrote down what I had to do. It is one thing watching someone make it.  It is a whole different thing actually cutting it out and taping it together. That duck tape is sticky and very hard to tape another piece to it. It sticks to your fingers, it sticks to the 2nd piece of tape in places where you don’t want it to stick. So anyway after many tries, I finally made my first duck tape wallet. I think I might be able to do better on the next one. My son wants a black and yellow one.

So here are pictures of the wallet I made. This is the outside of it. The inside is gold and there are 3 pockets for credit cards and I made a clear pocket on one side to put ID into.  I like that it is not heavy and does not take up much space in my purse.

The other day I got a Kindle, the $79 one. I just wanted it to read books on. Did you know that Amazon has lots of fee books to put on your Kindle. I also can download them from the library. The only problem with that is, I am like number 60 on the waiting list for a book I tried to get. That will take a long, long time before it gets to me. I now need to make a pouch to put my Kindle in when I put it in my purse.

PS: You can click on the pictures to see them bigger.

Author: Connie T

I love to make videos, cooking ones and legos ones. I like to draw and paint and make crafts and read blogs. I have a Nikon D80. I also use my Canon small camera a lot, I always have it with me.

14 thoughts on “Duck tape wallet”

    1. It is a challenge to make one. The people that make them on youtube make it look easy, but maybe it does get easier if you make them all the time. I was making it on the floor and didn’t really know what I was doing. I have seen people make dresses and suits out of duck tape. That would drive me nuts.

      Like

  1. That is so cool. I need new wallet, and I love duct tape, so maybe I should try one. I love it that yours is so colorful.

    It sounds like a great school project, too. What a wonderful idea. They’re training future entrepreneurs.

    Blessings!

    Like

  2. You and your son are both artistic and have a gift in making hand made items that look beautiful and just as functional as name brands. Love the optimism and creativity that you both put in it. Your son is talented. He will grow up into a very smart, resourceful and generous young man. Wishing you and your family a blessed and happy Christmas.

    Like

Leave a Reply

