Weekly photo challenge: Peaceful

The weekly photo challenge is Peaceful.

We were driving to the store today. I saw this park with a big lake that was mostly froze over. It got to 11 degrees here this morning. When I stopped at the park it was 28 degrees. The lake had lots of ducks and birds, sitting on the ice or in the non frozen water. There were parts that were not frozen yet. There were benches all around the lake and people were just sitting on the benches looking at the lake. I went to a table by the lake to sit and take pictures. All the birds, some were big geese type birds, started running over to me.

The two big birds ran right up to me and were talking to me. I guess people feed them and they were asking me if I was going to feed them. They told me in their honks that they didn’t want to stand there and pose for me. When they figured out that I had no food for them, they turned around and walked back to the water.

There are several parts of the lake. A pathway goes all the way around the park. It was warm sitting in the sun and very peaceful. I am going to go back tomorrow with some bread to feed the birds, take a walk around and lake and take pictures.

Author: Connie T

I love to make videos, cooking ones and legos ones. I like to draw and paint and make crafts and read blogs. I have a Nikon D80. I also use my Canon small camera a lot, I always have it with me.

23 thoughts on “Weekly photo challenge: Peaceful”

  1. That sounds like a plan…taking a walk around the lake. I just love that last picture. It feels like those two are overlooking their rather large brood. 🙂 Beautiful pictures Connie!

    Like

    1. Tomorrow is Saturday, so there will be a lot of people feeding the birds. They probably will be so full they won’t woddle over to me. They are cute though. They came right up to me, so close I could touch them.

      Like

  2. There is always something peaceful about being around water. Is it the sound, the colours? I don’t think it is one thing. I love your geese. It was probably a bit noisy while they protested, but once back on the lake, they were probably very peaceful too. Enjoy your walk tomorrow, and may you have fun feeding the wildlife. Maybe some more photos will be forthcoming.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    1. It was peaceful until they came so close to me, honking, demanding to be fed. It was fun watching them. I can’t wait to walk around there tomorrow. My son loves to walk around lakes with me.

      Like

  3. Wow! That is one beautiful lake. Love the photos of the ducks and the birds. Playful and fun. A great way to forget our problems when we needed it the most. Impressive gravatar by the way. Best wishes to you and your family.

    Like

    1. I made the picture on photobucket.com. I just played with it and thought it looked different. I like how you can draw on your pictures and fill it with color. They have things you can put on your picture, so I put the red lips.I like the mask on your gravatar.

      Like

    1. When I lived in Florida, I bought some property. Across the street were 2 horses. When I would go see my property I would take apples and carrots for the 2 horses. They would run over and eat the food. I was going to build a house, but they would not let me build the house we designed, so we sold the property and moved. It would have been wonderful to live there.

      Like

Leave a Reply

