Pizza

I went back to Winco (a huge grocery store here) and bought some pizza dough. I am really excited that I found pizza dough for sale around here. I have been watching this new restaurant down the street, getting ready to open. It is called The Blind Onion. It took them forever to open, but they finally did open. We went there on Friday to try out their pizza. For being a new restaurant, it looked old. They put in mismatched tables and chairs. None of the chairs matched. The floor was stained concrete, not even tiled. All the employees looked disheveled. They didn’t wear matching clothes, like a uniform or logo t-shirts. They had these giant bottles of honey on the tables. I have never thought of putting honey on my pizza. Thoughts of when I was at a restaurant and watching a little girl licking the ketchup bottle and putting it back on the table popped into my head. I did not touch the big bottle of honey because who knows how many children had licked the bottle. They had empty beer cartons on the table holding several bottles of salt and pepper. It took a long time for the pizza to be made. The place started to get really busy, so that is good for them. The pizza was not that good. They folded over the edges so it was really thick and puffy. The pizza crust was not crispy and kind of doughy, not fully cooked. I will never go back to eat there again.

Anyway, I decided to make a pizza last night. I heated the oven to 480 degrees and put in the pizza stone to pre-heat. I rolled out the pizza dough that I had bought at Winco.

I shredded up a ball of mozzarella cheese. I used the pizza sauce that I had bought at Smith’s grocery store. It is their brand, they sell the best pizza sauce. I had bought them all and their brand is the best tasting. I put the sauce on the pizza dough I rolled out. I like a lot of sauce. I put on the cheese, about 8 ounces. I cut up 4 mushrooms and cooked them in butter. I also cooked up a half of red onion. I put on a half of package of mild pepperoni all over the pizza. Put on the mushrooms, and onion. I put on some black sliced olives. I had 3 pieces of bacon, so I tore it in pieces and put on the pizza. I made it on my pizza peel paddle, first putting down some cornmeal, then the dough. I slid the pizza onto my hot pizza stone in the oven. I cooked it for 11 minutes. It was bubbling hot. I got the pizza out of the oven with the wooden peel.

The pizza was so delicious, better than the restaurant. I didn’t take a picture of it. I should have but I was too busy eating it, while it was nice and hot. My kitchen smelled just like a pizza restaurant. The secret is the pizza stone. The next time I make it I will take a picture. It was so good.

 

Author: Connie T

I love to make videos, cooking ones and legos ones. I like to draw and paint and make crafts and read blogs. I have a Nikon D80. I also use my Canon small camera a lot, I always have it with me.

3 thoughts on “Pizza”

    1. Actually I ate the pizza and then I wrote about it. When I made it, I didn’t think about doing a post. It is just that it tasted so good, that I wrote about it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

