Connie’s 5 grain bread

I looked all over the internet for a 5 grain bread recipe. I could not find it. I wanted to make a 5 grain bread because I went to Winco today. It is a grocery store that sells bulk items in the back. They have all kinds of grain and I got a bag of one called 5 grain. It didn’t say what was it it, but it looks like oats and who knows what else. I would have gotten more but they didn’t have higher ones. I found a bread book I had and just used the recipe for another bread but added my 5 grains to it.
I love the stuff at Winco, I got a little bit of dried milk and instant yeast and bread flour, that was 44 cents a pound. So I put the dry ingredients into my mixer. I have a Kitchen Aid mixer with a dough hook. You put the yeast in warm water with a pinch of sugar.

DSC_0003
I will show you pictures and at the end I will put the recipe I used in case you want to make it. It tasted so good when it was all done.
After the yeast foams up put it in the bowl with the other stuff.
DSC_0002

Turn it on to mix up. If it is a little dry add about a spoon of water. It it looks too wet add a spoon of flour. It will all pull away from the sides of the bowl and stick on the dough hook.
DSC_0005
Then take it off the dough hook and make a ball and put some olive oil in a bowl and put the dough in the bowl and roll around to get the oil on the dough.
DSC_0007
Let it rise for one hour or until it is double in size. Cover the bowl.
DSC_0008
punch it down and take out of bowl. I just kneaded a few times and the just flattened the dough and folded it into a loaf shape. I sprayed the pan with spray oil and put the formed bread into the pan.
DSC_0010
Then I lightly brushed on some water on the top and sprinkled some more of my 5 grain on top to look pretty.

DSC_0012</a
Cover and let it rise again for an hour. It only took 50 minutes to rise.
DSC_0014
I put a cup of water at the bottom of the oven for steam and heat the oven to 375 degrees F. I baked it for 30 minutes and the inside temperature was 202 degrees F. It came out beautiful.
DSC_0015

DSC_0018
I let it cool on a rack and then sliced it to see. It came out great, nice looking inside an it tastes delicious. I put butter on a slice and ate it warm. It was so good.
perfect
Here is the recipe:
1 cup warm water with 1/2 tsp sugar
2 tsp instant yeast OR 3 tsp active dry yeast
2 tbsp. melted butter
2 tbsp. honey
3 cups white bread flour
1 1/2 tbsp. dry milk
1 1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup 5 grains (I got this in the bulk food isle.)
Put yeast in water and left get frothy. Add ingredients into mixer bowl and then put it yeast water. Mix about 4 minutes. Add a spoon of water if too dry, add a spoon of flour if too wet.
Oil glass bowl put dough into bowl, cover rest 1 hour to rise until double.
Shape into a loaf and put into a greased loaf pan. Let rise again about 1 hour, covered. Uncover and bake in oven 375 F for 30 minutes or until it is 200 degrees F inside. Let cool and eat. ENJOY

Author: Connie T

I love to make videos, cooking ones and legos ones. I like to draw and paint and make crafts and read blogs. I have a Nikon D80. I also use my Canon small camera a lot, I always have it with me.

2 thoughts on “Connie’s 5 grain bread”

Leave a Reply

