Rosemary Foccaccia bread

I watched a video from America Test Kitchen on how to make Foccaccia bread. I will include the video. I made the bread yesterday. It tastes so good. I made it a little different from theirs. First you make a sponge and they say leave it to sit for 8 to 12 hours. I wanted to eat the bread so I just let it sit for 3 hours. You want it light and airy so you don’t mix it up, you fold it. You will see in the video. They fold it in the bowl and let it rest for 30 minutes. They do that 6 times. I only did it 4 times. But it came out really good anyway.
focaccia 2
I made two of them.
I ate one last night with dipping olive oil.
withoil
Here is the indredients:
for the sponge:
1/2 cup unbleached flour
I used 1 1/4 tsp yeast (the video called for 1/4 tsp)
1/3 cup water, I used a little more, I thought it was dry.
the water should be from 100 degrees to 110 F.
Stir 1 minute cover and sit 8 to 24 hours. (I did 3 hours).

Then add later:
2 1/2 cups flour (I used bread flour) or use all purpose flour.
1 tsp yeast
1 1/3 cups water
Mix with a spoon, cover, sit 15 minutes
then add 2 tsp salt, mix up
cover with plastic wrap, let rise 30 minutes.
Then oil spatula with cooking spray, gently fold dough on top of itself, turn bowl and keep folding 8 times. (Watch the video).
cover with plastic wrap, rise 30 minutes
fold dough 8 more times
rise 30 minutes
fold dough again
rise 30 more minutes.
flour counter, set oven to 500 degrees. They put in a pizza stone and put their pans on it to cook. I didn’t and it came out great.
I just put the pans in the oven bake the bread.
Watch the video to see how they do the dough in the pans.
I also used 1 tablespoon dried rosemany on the bread. They used fresh rosemany, but the dried was only 17 cents at Winco in the spice bins isle. I only got a tablespoon worth from there.

Author: Connie T

I love to make videos, cooking ones and legos ones. I like to draw and paint and make crafts and read blogs. I have a Nikon D80. I also use my Canon small camera a lot, I always have it with me.

6 thoughts on “Rosemary Foccaccia bread”

  1. I start writing a comment but keep scrolling back up to look at the picture because it looks amazingly tasty!

    This could go on for a while…

    I’m sure your taste buds thanked you that night!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

