Slow cooker chicken

DSC_0014.JPG

I just cooked the  best meal and I wanted to write down how I made it. Each bite I took made me go yummmm.  I got a Hamilton Beach slow cooker at Walmart. It is the 5 quart one. It was $18. I am sure if you have a better slow cooker it will work great, but this one cooked the chicken perfect.

You take chicken breasts, trimmed of all fat. Mine were big and I used two. Next time I will use 3 but these were big pieces and I cut them in half to make 4 pieces. This was enough for 3 people. My husband just told me to cook 6 chicken breasts next time. I said we need to buy a bigger slow cooker then.

I put the chicken in the bottom the pot.  Then I peeled about 8 small potatoes and cut them in half. I got the potatoes at the 99 cent store and they were Yukon gold potatoes. I should have put more of them in too because they were so good.  Put them in the pot on one side of the chicken.

Cut up some carrots and put them in the pot on the other side of the chicken. I used 6 carrots. My son loves carrots so next time I will probably put about 9 of them in there.

Then take 1/4 cup of olive oil.

I used the juice of one orange, put it in the olive oil.

1 teaspoon of dried Italian seasoning. (That is was the bottle says.)

1 teaspoon onion powder

I used some garlic salt, probably 1 tsp. Or use fresh garlic. I didn’t have any.

Mix that all together and then pour it over everything in the pot, the chicken, potatoes and carrots.

Put the lid on and turn on high and cook for 4 hours. That is it.  Then eat it. The chicken tastes so tender and good.  I can’t wait to make it again, but with more chicken, potatoes and carrots. They taste so good, you will want more.   DSC_0007 (2)Do not open the pot after you close it, until it is done.

 

Author: Connie T

I love to make videos, cooking ones and legos ones. I like to draw and paint and make crafts and read blogs. I have a Nikon D80. I also use my Canon small camera a lot, I always have it with me.

11 thoughts on “Slow cooker chicken”

    1. The recipe called for the juice of lemon 1/3 cup. I didn’t have lemon so I used the juice of one orange. It tasted really good but I bought some lemons to try it the other way. It might be a little tangy with the lemon.

      Like

      1. I did finally make this with the lemon juice. We liked it better with the orange juice. It was OK with the lemon but much better with the orange juice.

        Like

Leave a Reply

