Pink Himalayan crystal salt

I love my new Wolfgang Puck salt and pepper grinders. My husband took them apart and put batteries in them.

DSC_0001u

I went to the store in search of salt and pepper for them. We went to Whole Foods because he wanted to look for cheese. I said I need some yellow potatoes for dinner tonight. He called me over and said “Here is a bag of yellow potatoes, do you want those?” They were $8 for a small bag. Ummm NO, I got those at the 99 cent store for 50 cents a bag a few weeks ago. $8, they must be crazy. As we were walking to the cheese section we passed the fish section. They had Ahi tuna for $27 a pound. Oh gee, I’ll get two pounds of that. NEVER. He got this little thing of cheddar cheese spread. I went over to the spice isle. I got a jar of peppercorns that was $4 and they had a jar of pink Himalayan salt crystals for $9. I was going to get it but I put it back. I would go check Winco. It is a grocery store that sells things in bulk. You can buy just what you need.

We drove to Winco and I got a bag of yellow potatoes for $1.49. I went the back of the store and got a little bag of peppercorns for $1.14. That stuff is $11 a pound. You put how much you need in a bag and write down the number and weigh it when you pay for it. I found this giant container of the pink Himalayan crystal salt. I took a couple of scoops of that and put it in the little bag. That cost 44 cents. I only needed half of it for my grinder, so it holds about 22 cents worth. Whole Foods wanted $9 for a jar of it.

Isn’t the pink salt pretty? I love how it looks. I found about how it is good for you too. Himalayan crystal salt is far superior to traditional iodized salt. Himalayan salt is millions of years old and pure, untouched by many of the toxins and pollutants that pervade other forms of ocean salt.

I love the grinders you just push the top and it grinds. I bought some colored carrots at the store and came home and made my slow cooker chicken and put in the colored carrots. My son wanted more carrots so I made him peel about 20 more carrots to put in the cooker. He loves carrots. Of course I had to put in some salt and pepper.

Author: Connie T

I love to make videos, cooking ones and legos ones. I like to draw and paint and make crafts and read blogs. I have a Nikon D80. I also use my Canon small camera a lot, I always have it with me.

10 thoughts on “Pink Himalayan crystal salt”

    1. Than you for this humorous post. I have only seen one “Whole Foods” store in Kensington London. I live in Denmark and I was overwhelmed by the beauty for the food there. But yes it was expensive but as a tourist you only need a little of this and that to take to the hotel room at night.

      Like

      1. Our is really busy, but most of the people are eating in there. They sell cooked food you put in a container. I bought some soup one day. I got this big container and filled it up. They weigh it and charge by the weight. It cost a lot for that soup. It was good though. I like to go in there and buy a crème brule they cost $5 for one serving. It is so good.

        Like

      2. It was like that in London too. I liked the late opening hours too coming “home” from a long day sighting still being able to get something really healthy and nice. I wrote a post on the impression a few weeks ago

        Like

Leave a Reply

