Virginia City, NV

Virginia city is 14 miles from my house. You go over a mountain to get to it. My son wanted to go there to eat lunch and walk around the old town. It is like an old western town. They still mine silver and platinum and gold. There are a lot of old buildings and the sidewalks are made of wood and slope and twist and dip and are little hard to walk on. We walked the whole street looking for a place to eat. There are old saloons with long wood bars. We went into a few shops that sold stuff like old knives and little bottles of silver. I almost bought one but thought what would I do with it once I got home. My son wanted this old knife that had a little pistol mounted on it, it was dull and looked like a cap gun. The guy wanted $50 but I thought maybe $20 is all it was worth. It was one of those, this is neat but he would just put it in a drawer and never look at it again. We didn’t buy it. I wanted a t-shirt that showed a long bar with horses sitting on the bar stools and said Virginia City, but they didn’t have one in the store, just the window. I didn’t get a t-shirt.

We found a saloon with a menu out front so we went in to eat. They had a sign “See the suicide table.” It was this old poker table in the back, all worn out, under glass. The sign said 3 men commented suicide on that table after losing all they money. If you think about it, it is gross. I didn’t look at it long. The town was not very busy. It was a Tuesday and half of the businesses were closed. The food was good in the restaurant, saloon.

img_0010-2

I had chicken fingers and my son had a clam chowder in a bread bowl and hubby had the most delicious meat ball sandwich. The 3 guys at the bar stood up and grabbed their canes. My husband heard them say “We can’t drink more, we have to drive home”, as they stumbled out the door.

We walked around the town after we ate. There is a saloon called Bucket of Blood. It is usually packed on the weekends, but it was empty when I looked in the door. It does have a neat name.

IMG_0015 (2).JPG

It was getting cold, that town is almost 7,000 feet. We drove home. You can see the mountains, covered with snow across the valley. That is where Lake Tahoe is, way up in the mountains. It is a steep, twisting, turn road to get back down the mountain.

img_0002u

Author: Connie T

I love to make videos, cooking ones and legos ones. I like to draw and paint and make crafts and read blogs. I have a Nikon D80. I also use my Canon small camera a lot, I always have it with me.

3 thoughts on “Virginia City, NV”

  1. The lansdscape of mountains is grandiose . It woth to go to that town .
    This town was picturesque and keep the ancient fatures but what is sold was not what uou expected . But you have ùade a come back to the past time ,to the history. This not so bad ,Connie.
    Love ❤
    Michel

    Like

Leave a Reply

