Virginia City

The other day I wanted to drive out to Dayton, NV to see some new houses. Dayton is 55 miles from Reno. It is in the middle of no-where. There is only a grocery store about 9 miles from the houses we went to see. The houses were beautiful and new and had big lots but it is in the middle of nowhere. It would be a long drive if you wanted to drive into town to buy anything other than groceries. As much as I liked the house and the price, I didn’t like being far, far away….from town.

We then drove over to Virginia City, NV which was about 20 miles away. It is an old western town in the mountains. I guess they discovered the biggest silver strike ever. At least that is what this sign said.

There are wooden walkways to walk on and they are crooked and uneven and twist this way and that and go up and go down and it is hard to walk on those. You have to watch your step all the time when you are walking. The buildings are old. There are a lot a saloons.

I heard loud music coming from this saloon and when I got to the door I looked in. The place was packed, I took a picture to show you how some of the people were dressed.

Further down the street a donkey was tied up with a sign on him to pay $1 for a carrot to feed him. I didn’t feed him. I did get a picture.

Later, when we were leaving town, this old guy was walking down the middle of the road, taking his donkey home with him. The guy had a long beard and hat. He looked like he was maybe 60 or 70. He finally moved over to the side of the road so we could drive by.

Mark Twain used to live in this town. He wrote The Adventures of Tom Sawyer. Twain went to Virginia City to become a miner and didn’t do so well, so he worked for the newspaper.

This is pretty much what all the saloons looked like. They had a long ornate wooden bars. They were neat to look at. This one was empty. They had some old man playing a guitar and singing and it didn’t attract any customers. The one I already posted that was crowded had a band, playing some good music.

We then drove back home, after visiting a candy shop. My son got some gum that looks like a pack of cigarettes. I remember buying those when I was little.

We bought some fudge, but I have not eaten any since we got home.

Author: Connie T

I love to make videos, cooking ones and legos ones. I like to draw and paint and make crafts and read blogs. I have a Nikon D80. I also use my Canon small camera a lot, I always have it with me.

4 thoughts on “Virginia City”

  1. Virginia City looked great…

    …I loved the look of the cowboy (with his back to us) in the photo of the crowded bar ;o)

    Like

  2. Sounds like you’re headed for the wild west. I’m going to imagine you living in a house like in ‘The Little House on the Prairie’. Hope you don’t have to get water from the well every morning.

    Like

    1. There are beautiful houses here, but the big beautiful ones are too expensive. I am looking all over town for a house. I am in no hurry though, I signed a 6 month lease. The house in nowhere said they would pay 3 months of my rent on my apartment.

      Like

Leave a Reply

