Moving dirt.

As I was sitting outside, throwing rocks into the wheelbarrow, the sun was beating down on my legs. I was in shorts. My legs were getting hot. I decided to get up and get some dish towels to cover my knees. The ground was covered in dirt and little rocks, that dug into my knees, as I put my knees on them to push my body up off the ground. I was slipping and having a hard time getting up. The ground sloped and it was really hard to get up. I went into the house and grabbed 3 towels and ran cold water over them. I go back out and sit down on the ground and put the wet towels over my knees. Ah, feels so good. I also put a wet towel around my neck.

They’re working on building a house next door, right beside where I was picking up the rocks in my yard. A worker drives up on this bulldozer and tells me he has to dig a trench right beside where I am sitting. I move over to the driveway while he digs out a really deep hole. He says it is for the electric. Dirt is blowing everywhere. It is usually windy. I ask him if he will use his bulldozer to spread out some dirt, that I had talked another worker to dump in our yard. I got the other guy to give me 3 scoops of dirt that he was moving. He dumped it in the yard but it needed to be spread out. The current guy made 2 swipes with his giant scoop on his bulldozer and it was flattened pretty good. I offered him a hot-dog, but he said he didn’t want one.

This other guy was jumping in the trench that was just dug and doing the pipe work. I sat back down and started throwing rocks back in the wheelbarrow. All the workers that work on the houses are Mexican. Most of them don’t speak English very well. The guy in the trench got back out and sat beside the house, waiting for the electric company to come look at what he did. He was asking me what we were doing. He said he would give us some pipe for the drainage in our yard. I told him we didn’t need it. My husband is going to do the drainage on the other side of the house.

I went into the house and got my new grill cooker and plugged it in outside the front door. I was going to cook hot-dogs, so I asked the guy working at the house next door if he wanted a hot-dog. He said “Sure”. I got the hot-dogs on the cooker and some buns and mustard. They cooked really fast. I wrapped the buns in foil and got them hot on the cooker too. I called him over and gave him a hot-dog on a bun with mustard. He took it and went back to work. He must have ate that hot-dog in 2 seconds. He ate it really fast. The hot-dog was good and hot. It tasted good.

I went back to work on the rocks and my son came out and finished the rest of the rock. It was finally moved. My husband broke out the little concrete slab in the back, by the sliding door. He is going to build a deck. There is never ending work to be done to the back yard too.

Author: Connie T

I love to make videos, cooking ones and legos ones. I like to draw and paint and make crafts and read blogs. I have a Nikon D80. I also use my Canon small camera a lot, I always have it with me.

3 thoughts on “Moving dirt.”

Leave a Reply

