#WeekendCoffeeShare 5-23-16

DSCN1235 - Copy (2) - Copysmall

I am a little late for the weekend coffee share. Sometimes I think I have nothing to talk about so I think about it for a few days and get a pencil and paper and start writing stuff at night before bed.

So I will tell you some of the stuff that happened this week. Nothing earth shattering but I would probably talk about it if we were having coffee.

I ordered a new vegetable peeler from Amazon. It was in a package of 4 things. I also ordered a lens cap leash for my camera. You stick it on the cap and it has a string attached to elastic that fits around the lens. That way I won’t lose the cap.

Anyway I got an email that the package was delivered by the post office. It said it was left in the box and they put the key in your little box. I walked over to the post box and there was no key. The mail lady put the key in some other box.

I drove to the post office and told them they delivered my package to the wrong person. They said “It says it was delivered.” I said “Yeah it was delivered but not to me. Now someone is going to get my package and I don’t get it at all.” They didn’t even know who she gave the key to. I kept walking over and both big boxes finally had a key in it which means they picked up my package. I opened the box and it was empty so they took it. I saw the mail truck and I drove over to it and talked to the post office lady. She said yes she delivered it, she put it in the big box and left the key. I told her she did not leave the key in my box for it. She said she didn’t know she will look and see if they left her a note. I told her that no one drove the package to my house and left it at my door. She said “Well that would be against the law if they did that.” Well isn’t it against the law to deliver my package to the wrong address for her? The next morning I walked over to the mail box and looked to see if the big box was still empty. It had a key in the door so I opened it and my big box was sitting there. Someone put it back. Anybody could have walked by and opened the box and took my package. I am just glad that I got it. There are some honest people in this world.

☕☕☕☕☕☕☕☕☕☕☕☕☕☕☕☕☕☕☕☕☕☕☕☕☕☕☕☕☕☕☕☕

I made the best tasting chicken yesterday. I had 2 small chicken breasts. I get a big pack of them at Sam’s Club for $1.88 a pound. I told you how I shrink wrap them and freeze this in another post. I covered the chicken all over with a new spice I got. It is this. Brown sugar and bourbon seasoning. It has a smoky hint to it.

DSCN1315u

I then got a cast iron skillet and rubbed the inside of the pan with lard. I like using lard. I don’t really like to use vegetable oil. I don’t use a lot, I just rub it on the pan with a paper towel. Then I heated the pan and put the chicken in the hot pan. I cooked each side about 5 minutes. The chicken is done when the internal temperature is 165 which destroys harmful germs.

I also looked up a recipe for macaroni and cheese in the Betty Crocker cookbook.

MACARONI AND CHEESE RECIPE:

2 cups elbow macaroni, 2 tbsp. grated onion, 1 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp pepper, 3 cups cheese,

2 cups of thin white sauce.

So boil the macaroni in a pan of water. Make the white sauce.

2 tbsp. butter, 2 tbsp. flour, 1/4 tsp salt, 1/8 tsp pepper and 2 cups of milk.

Melt the butter on low heat and then stir in the flour. Cook it and stir it for about 1 minute.

I just used my new pepper and salt grinder to put the salt and pepper in. I didn’t measure it. Then pour in the milk and stir until it boils. Let it cook for a minute after boiling and the sauce is done.

Heat oven to 375 degrees F. Drain the macaroni and then place half of it in a casserole dish. Sprinkle on half the onion, salt and pepper and put half the cheese all over it. I used medium cheddar shredded cheese and mixed Fiesta cheese that is like 5 different cheeses from Walmart. I didn’t measure it, I just put on a couple of hand fulls of cheese. Then put the rest of the macaroni, onion, salt and pepper and more cheese. I then poured the white sauce all over it and added more of the cheese. I like it cheesy. The recipe does not call for that.  Bake for 30 minutes at 375 covered. Oh yeah put some pats of butter all over the top before you bake it. After 30 minutes uncover it and bake for 15 more minutes.

It tasted SO good. I didn’t take any pictures of it. I forgot too. I was too busy going Yummmm. It made me want to go down to the fridge later and eat the left overs. I didn’t do that. We are having it for dinner again tonight. I am going to make salmon patties.

I need to go to teach my son how to make fried rice. He is taking cooking class and for the final project he has to cook something for one of his teachers. He chose fried rice. He asked how they make fried rice at Ganghis Grill and they said they use pineapple juice and soy sauce. We will have to try it to see if that is they way he wants to make it for his teacher. I bought some good soy sauce at the Asian market. The lady said to buy sweet soy sauce so I did. She said that makes the best fried rice.

☕☕☕☕☕☕☕☕☕☕☕☕☕☕☕☕☕☕☕☕☕☕☕

If you want to join in on the weekend coffee share go here.

 

Author: Connie T

I love to make videos, cooking ones and legos ones. I like to draw and paint and make crafts and read blogs. I have a Nikon D80. I also use my Canon small camera a lot, I always have it with me.

2 thoughts on “#WeekendCoffeeShare 5-23-16”

  1. The brown sugar Bourbon caught me because at the origin it was a vanilla sugar . And the vanilla has been grown and produced at first in Reunion Island in the Indian Ocean called in the past, before French revolution , Bourbon Island .
    You see you teach me Connie .
    Love ❤
    Michel

    Like

Leave a Reply

