Kayak, first time

 

I drive up to the lake. There is a layer of pebbles and rocks. Gentle lapping of the water. It is a beautiful sunny day. About 88 degrees with a little breeze blowing across the skin, keeping you cool. I put the kayak in the water. I have never been kayaking before. I slowly grip the top sides of the kayak and climb in.

There I am, wedged in the rocks, and the water, wondering how I push off to get to deeper water to float. I push with the paddle, but I don’t do it hard because I don’t want to scratch up the paddle. I push my hands into the water, into the rocks and push and push to try to make the boat move. With the water moving beside you, it makes you think you are moving, but you are not. I then start to push and scoot. I am making some progress.  I move a little. I keep pushing and rocking the boat and slowing start to float.

DSCN1379 (2).JPG

Now you have to keep still because the boat starts to tip, one way, then the other. Hubby said “Use the paddle.” OK, I have never used a paddle that is long with paddles on each end. I tip the paddle to one side and dip it in the water. I push it back and the boat turns. Then I dip the other side into the water and push down and the boat straightens. You have to keep still though so the boat does not tip and rock.

DSCN1402uh (3)

Pretty soon you get the hang of it. Tipping one side of the paddle into the water and pushing it through the water. Lifting it and repeat on the other side. You glide along the water. Before you know it you are pretty far out in the lake.

DSCN1381 (2)ub

You stop paddling and think “How do I turn around?” You just keep putting the paddle in the water on one side until you turn. Then you start back to shore. You have this big grin on your face because it feels awesome. You finally make it to shore and stop. Now to figure out how to get out of the kayak. I sling my leg over and then the other leg and sit on the edge. Now I can’t stand up because it is at the height that I can’t push up with my knees. My son takes my hand and now I can stand up. He hops in the kayak and paddles all the way across the lake.

I bought a new sit on kayak that is easier for me to get off of. It is more stable. I also got this beautiful green and white paddle. I love green so this make me happy.

DSC_0003ur

Have a safe and happy 4th of July and don’t try to launch a firework from your head. It will kill you. FYI.

Author: Connie T

I love to make videos, cooking ones and legos ones. I like to draw and paint and make crafts and read blogs. I have a Nikon D80. I also use my Canon small camera a lot, I always have it with me.

2 thoughts on “Kayak, first time”

Leave a Reply

